Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs - Campbell M

Go to content

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

Abraham Maslow's "Hierarchy of Needs" is a psychology theory which he proposed is his 1943 paper, "A Theory of Human Motivation".

Therein, Maslow created a classification system, which reflects the universal needs of society/individuals, and how they intrinsically partake in behavioural motivation and development.

He used the terms, "Physiological," "Safety," "Belonging and Love," "Esteem," and "Self-Actualization" to describe the evolution through which human motivations generally develop.

This means that in order for motivation to occur at the next level, each current level must be fully experientially satisfied within the individual themselves.

Additionally, Maslow's theory is foundational in understanding how drive and motivation are correlated when reviewing human behaviour. Each of the experiential levels contain internalized sensations that must be experienced and resolved so that an individual can complete their hierarchy.

Maslow's theory was fully expressed in his book, "Motivation and Personality", 1954.

Abraham Maslow was born 1908, and died 1970 (62).

From Lower (1) to Higher (5), Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs are:

5 - Self-Actualization
4 - Esteem and Recognition
3 - Love and Belonging
2 - Safety/Security
1 - Physiological/Survival


Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

5) Self- Actualisation
Personal Growth, and Fulfilment, etc

4) Esteem Needs
Achievement, Status, Responsibility, and Reputation, etc

3) Belonging, Acceptance, and Love Needs
Family, Affection, Relationships, Associates, and Work Groups, etc

2) Safety/Security Needs
Protection, Security, Order, Law, Limits, and Stability, etc

1) Biological and Physiological Survival Needs
Basic life needs - Air, Water, Food, Shelter, Warmth, Sex, and Sleep, etc

Expansion of Consciousness

The individual’s expansion of consciousness in the Physical Experiential Plane (three-dimensions and five-senses) is directly related to his "needs" at each level of advancement.

As each lower need is fulfilled, the individual is able to progress to a higher experiential reality.

However, if during the individual's evolution, a lower need becomes threatened or is compromised, the individual will regress back to that level, and work therein, until that level is again fulfilled and secure.

Thus, only when the compromised lower level is secured and fulfilled can the individual again progress upward.

Abraham Maslow, a Psychologist, expressed these evolutionary needs, within the individual, as a "Hierarchy of Needs".

It is important that the seeker of illumination studies this "Hierarchy of Needs" carefully, so that they can plan the exploration and experiencing of life in the most effective way.

Remember that an individual cannot advance to a higher experience or plane until the lower experiences are secure within their personal psyche.

Back to content